NaNo Update weeks one (well part of week one)

 

So here I am taking a break from writing to do some writing. I am on the second day of NaNo and things seem to be off to a good start. As you can see by looking at the little tracker off to the right side of the screen as of Friday Nov 2nd I am well ahead of the goal for the day. I am off to a great start and the words seem to be following out of my finger tips. There are a couple of big reasons for this. One I still do not have a day job at this point, so other than the time I spent sleeping, applying for jobs and interviewing for jobs I am able to devote myself to as much writing as possible. Second the first thing would not be helping but I have been having so much fun with this still that it is hard for me to put it down. Even as I am writing I find myself plotting the story ahead and planning out funny little moments and the next goofy character that I will introduce. Even better is that I feel like I am actually getting some good material out of this. I read my wife one of the paragraphs earlier today that I had just written, and not only did she laugh at all of the correct moments, but when I made a correct about editing the work later she told me that the part I read to her did not need any editing. And for those of you who do not know my wife is an exceptionally harsh critic and does not pull punches when it comes to things she does not like. I also feel like the pace of the story is going well. I did not plan out an outline to the story. I only knew that I had originally four, now five phases of the story that I wanted to work through. I am currently just short of the ten thousand word mark which would be one fifth of the way and I am just starting to reach the turning point from part one to part two of the story, if it continues this well I will have the entire arc of the story fit perfectly in the 50k word goal.  All things considered this at least as for the first two days, has been one of the best things I could have done to get the stress off of me when it came to me writing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

