A little bit of course correction….

Today is going to be different from anything else I have done before, why you ask. Because prior to today everything has been centered around the progress I have been making towards the publication of ‘The Lost Prophet’ and while I am still working on that I have undergone a little course correction this week and I think a little details are in order. For those who are not aware I was laid off from my day job back in May of this year, and while I have been looking for work I have also been devoting time to making progress with getting my book ready for publication.  However I have run into a little snag in that I am almost done with the second draft of the book, not sure if I want to go ahead with feedback from friends or hiring a professional editor, at the same time I am thinking about the costs of design and cover work on the book. All of which I have no money to spare for at the moment.

At the same time as all of this has been going on, an idea that I originally came up with about a year ago was tapping at the back of my head. When I read a blog post about software that could be used to organize your writing, I decided to give it a try. I was not significantly impressed with it to give a ringing endorsement, but since I needed a project that I had not done much work on to try it out with, I figured let me work on this story. Well the software was abandoned, but I have been building the story more and more. I plan at this point to write it out as a serial, with each installment building more and more on the story. Not sure how big it will get in the end but I think I will let the story decide where it wants to go.

Now I was faced with the problem that I needed a place to publish my story, and I imagined the perfect place would be a literary magazine that focused on Geek culture. But to the best of my knowledge no one does that sort of magazine and the more that I thought about it the more it came into focus.

A multimedia e-magazine that focused on geek culture, specifically cosplay and the movie, music, art and poetry that  inspire it and are inspired by it. A place where fantasy and reality mix and mingle.

And I said to myself if no one else has made a magazine like this, then I need to be the person to do it.

As of now I have already begun assembling my creative team and drawing up plans and specification for what we can do right now with this format, and how we can make it like nothing that has ever been seen before.

Trilith – a prehistoric structure consisting of two upright stones supporting a horizontal stone. An archway or portal to somewhere else.

2 Comments

Filed under Publishing, Writing

2 responses to “A little bit of course correction….

  1. If you need a guest writer, blogger, facebook updater, let me know. This is right up my alley. http://www.scoopsmangum.blogspot.com

    I don’t blog as often as I should, but there you go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

